E-burol: A way to view your relative’s wake online

5 Jul

Yes this is real

I swear that when my boyfriend showed me this picture I told him it was edited. I thought that surely it was just some person’s witty idea of expressing how everything seems to be available online these days. I was wrong. This “E-burol” service does indeed exist.

St. Peter’s is offering this E-burol service for the relatives and friends who cannot go to the wake of their deceased. This service will allow them to view the wake online via the St. Peter’s website. As privacy is indeed very important, only select people (real relatives and friends) will be given the details on how to access the service. For more details you can check here. You can even download their “manual” that has step by step instructions on how you can use their service.

So what does this unique and revolutionary service show us? What implications does this kind of service have on our lives? Why should we care?

Everything is going digital.

It may not be the case now but we’re definitely going there. Discovering this E-burol service made me see that even more. We are now living in a digital age where we can talk to people who are halfway across the world. All in real time. We can now share photos, videos, news and opinions with just a few clicks here and there.

Business people are now looking at how they can use the internet and social media to their advantage. E-burol is most likely a product of the same line of thought. The owners of St. Peter’s must have seen and heard many of their customers talking about relatives who could not make it to wakes because of the burdens of traveling, whether it be from abroad or from a relatively far place here in our country. They saw the clients’ needs, saw that no other funeral services offered it, and since the technology needed for this project was available E-burol was created. I find this project simple yet effective because of it’s practicality and effort to bring people closer during vital times.

Adapt to survive.

Humankind is facing another big change, and that is of the digital change. With the advent of technology, we are discovering new ways to do things everyday. During this time, we must not let ourselves get left behind. I recognize the importance of valuing and preserving the traditional way of doing things, but we must not close our minds to the possibilities that technology will bring. It is inevitable that technology will be a huge part in our way of living in the near future (more than it is now). And, instead of fighting the inevitable we must learn to adapt to these changes.

Being a part of the Net generation, we can develop this adaptive nature by frequently updating ourselves about the new technologies in the market. There are tons of articles available online about anything you can possibly ask for about the internet, social media, online trends, and many more. Reading up regularly and testing out the things that we read about will keep us in the loop of this digital age development. We can also help our parents (and even grandparents) by explaining the things that we know, and teaching them the basics in using certain technologies.

As a future professional…

On a personal note, this E-burol means to me that as a future professional I should not be too dependent on what I learn in school. The University will only provide me with a good foundation, but after graduation my environment will be my teacher. I must make an effort to listen and to observe the environment that I will be in (office, community, etc.). I should also learn how to distinguish which new knowledge will be beneficial to me. I will surely not be one to “jump the gun” as they may say.

I certainly look forward to many new “surprises” such as this. Personally, I am determined to keep an open mind about new technologies and new services.

I end this post with my last thought, maybe you have thoughts on this (I’m sure many of you do): “Kelan kaya maiimbento ang E-numan?”


18 Responses to “E-burol: A way to view your relative’s wake online”

  1. Ria July 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    We are indeed living in a digital age. We can see how certain things are emerging even from the way companies market their products and services. Some are very innovative in making use of new technology. :P

    I agree with you that we should not let ourselves be left behind but at the same time, select wisely the knowledge we adapt to because not all knowledge and advancements are good (and beneficial)for us.

    But really, an E-numan would be awesome! Hahaha! :)

    • Pattydc July 6, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      As Orcom practitioners that will be our edge. As of now we are being trained to be updated yet critical of all the new developments in technology and in the market.

      And yes, I knew you would like the idea of an E-numan. Haha!

  2. galeaya July 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    E-numan! MEN, benta! E-numan: A Night Out’s Fun at the Comforts of Your Home.

    I heard about E-burol from GJ, I think. I thought he was joking, but then he began telling me more about it. I think it’s a great concept, since there are a lot of OFWs who can’t go home when someone dies in their families. That was the case with my grandfather, who died early this year. His youngest son wasn’t able to come because he wasn’t allowed to take a leave of absence.

    I’m sure many Filipinos would love to hear about this service. Who knows, maybe someday there’d even be a service that would allow us to visit the cemetery digitally.

    • Pattydc July 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      I really only knew about the E-burol service late last night. I like the concept too! It might have been created for the purpose of business, but the thought of bringing families and friends together is there.

      E-NUMAN NA! Hohoho.

  3. mavcastillo July 7, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Patty,will you be willing to spearhead the E-numan “phenomenon”?LOL. I remembered hearing this at some newscast a couple of years back and at first I laughed at the idea because the first thing that came into mind is that what if I died and everyone decided to attend an E-burol service leaving no one to actually ‘guard’ my casket during the wake?!LOL.Nonetheless, as you said, E-burol is a very practical idea. It helps expatriates and OFWs to keep that Filipino tradition of ‘pakikiramay’.

    “The University will only provide me with a good foundation, but after graduation my environment will be my teacher. ”

    I very much agree!Thankfully, as would-be Orcom practitioners we are continuously being trained on how to be critical in filtering not only information but also trends. I believe that after graduation we would be at least equipped with the principle that not every trend or technology or technological trend for that matter is applicable in every situation. But then, we cannot fully prepare for real life. Might as well, enjoy the trial and error nature of reality:P

  4. What Does That Mean? July 16, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    My grandfather was put in the ICU 3 days after we left for Saudi. We knew that it wouldn’t be long and he’s gone, so we decided we had to get back here in the Philippines as soon as possible.

    But what if we didn’t have enough money? What if my parents’ bosses weren’t kind and understanding at all? Well it’s a good thing that today this kind of service is available. But this should only be used if one really can’t personally be there for his/her loved one. And we thank God that we were able to return to the country for him.

    I’m quite scared of the thought that once we get used to such services,we will forget the importance of actually “being there.” Even if the internet offers so much convenience for us, we should not let it blur our perceptions as to what really matters. Money is always there. But the opportunity to express your love to someone comes once in a blue moon.

    As you have said, “I should also learn how to distinguish which new knowledge will be beneficial to me.”

    Let’s learn how to distinguish which new things will be good for us. :)

    • Pattydc July 21, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      “But the opportunity to express your love to someone comes once in a blue moon.”

      I completely agree with you. Technology should not make us forget the importance of personally expressing our love to the people important to us. Hugs and kisses are better felt than seen as words or emoticons over the internet.

  5. Zid July 17, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    It’s rather amusing how everything seems to be broadcast over the internet. At first we thought teleconferencing wasn’t enough, now we have people having funerals live-streamed via the internet. It may sound perplexing but in this day and age, everything it seems is possible.

    • Pattydc July 21, 2010 at 10:36 am #

      Yes, I also believe that many things could be possible because of technology but we must not be overwhelmed by all these possibilities. Change is inevitable but not all change is good.

  6. Patsy July 18, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Woah! How crazy could technology get? I still think there is no substitute to crying spasmodically over a beloved’s casket. The e-numan was witty! But I hope it won’t reach to that. We Filipinos are known to love socializing and one of the forms of socializing is inuman. If it would go digital, it would lose the essence of communicating. Aww

    • Pattydc July 21, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Haha. Now that I think about it, I wouldn’t want an E-numan either. It’s a fun thought to be able to drink with friends via the internet but now that I think about it, what makes “inumans” great is the good feeling that we get when we’re with our friends. The fun and crazy moments that we get to share when we’re actually together is what makes the experience great.

  7. thetrialballoon July 22, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    Actually, this online burol was the only example I had given in my OC 140 report that Burn took notice and smiled. Hehe. :)

    Internet has definitely changed our course of space and time. Distance is no longer a factor in communication and so are time zones. Making calls to people anywhere even costs nothing now. And so is this electronic burol. :p But then, I think ‘medium is the message’ will always apply. Nothing beats being physically present in times of situations like attending the wake of a beloved.

  8. Angel July 25, 2010 at 5:17 am #

    I first heard of e-burol when we were doing an interview with an OrCom grad for OC140. And guess what, the e-burol thing is an OrCom graduate’s idea. Don’t quote me on this though! The interview happened almost two years ago. But as far as I can remember, yes, it was given birth by an OrCom grad. :)

  9. lstea July 25, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    nice last line!

    Businesses should really learn to seize the day with the perks the internet offers and (just as you’ve said) management should first be critical and assess the situation. Then decide whether or not to join the bandwagon.

    I think it’s also a question of balancing technologically enhanced communication and face-to-face. Let’s not solely rely on these technologies because as we’ve seen during the last calamity, technology can only take us so far. Without electricity, everything we’ve become used to disappears until the time electricity is restored.

  10. thefeistyfeline July 30, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    I always see that E-burol tarpaulin on my way home. (St. Peter Chapels is just one jeepney ride away.) If I remember correctly, they had this electronic funeral service more than five years ago.

    Perhaps as part of their market research, they have come to realize that the number of Filipinos working abroad is increasing progressively. The E-burol service cater largely to the needs of OFWs who wish to “virtually” see their beloveds even for the last time.

    While it maybe true that nothing replaces the actual presence of a loved one, we still cannot neglect the fact that this attempt to innovate provides an alternative to the many who have such need.

    And now, they have the E-libing!

  11. commania September 3, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    E-burol seems to be a very fun stuff! :D With today’s generation, I know that this kind of business really works. We tend to be very dependent on technology nowadays and it even dictates how we respond even to serious matters about life. But then again, nothing beats the basic–the comfort of the human hand patting the back of a relative of the dead one. :)

  12. attackofthelines September 24, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    Patty! When do we start this e-numan thing?! Hohoho! At least, we can get all drunk without having to worry about getting home and throwing up all over the place. Then again, isn’t it interesting if you’re physically there to witness how some people do some crazy (read this in my terms :D) stuff when they’re drunk.

    Anyway, I think I encountered the E-burol service of St Peter’s Chapels when I was on a bus on the way to UPD and got stuck in traffic in front of the said funeral home.

    I have to admit that it’s a pretty smart (and profitable) move by St Peter’s. Relatives abroad who really find it hard to come home to attend a funeral of another loved one can avail of this service. This is an example of how a company (and a funeral home at that!) can really use the Internet to its advantage.

    Companies should take St Peter’s Chapels as an example and do their best to maximize the potentials of the Web.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. E-Mourning: Get Creep-ed Out For Free! « from the gills - July 19, 2010

    [...] Get Creep-ed Out For Free! My classmate Patty de Chavez wrote in her blog about the emergence of an e-burial service in the Philippines. A while ago, I found an article from [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

