Why I Hate(d) This Blogging Requirement (Part1)

10 Sep

I was honestly excited about this whole project when it was discussed in class. I thought “Hey, here’s my chance to finally appreciate this blogging thing.” But, things didn’t exactly go as planned.

In the first place, I’m not the person who’ll spend hours in front of the computer perfecting an article about my thoughts on a certain topic. I am quite opinionated about certain issues but for some reason my thoughts seem better in my head than on paper (or in a blog post for this matter). Next, I’m not the super techie type. Yes, I know about new technologies, a little bit about hardware and softwares but I don’t voluntarily look for news about those things.

More than my lack of writing skills and interest in the required issues, what I dislike most about blogging is that it’s so easy to get lost in its universe. And by getting lost, I don’t mean the good kind. By getting lost I mean that it’s so easy to lose confidence in your work when you see so many other good ones out there. I actually thought of a term for what I’m feeling: an Online Identity Crisis.

So what is this Online Identity Crisis that I’m going on about?

Let me clear up first that this Online Identity Crisis (OIC) that I’m facing is regarding blogging, and not the I’ll-make-up-a-new-identity-online kind.

So, why do I say that I’m experiencing an Online Identity Crisis

#1: THEME-WHAT-THEME?

It’s so hard to think of a theme for a blog. First, your theme must, in a way reflect what you’re going to put in your blog. Second, it has to be something creative or witty. If it’s too boring then people would have the impression that your blog is too random or too plain, and they’d just move on to the next blog. If that isn’t difficult enough, your theme must somehow show your “unique” personality.

I ended up with my blog name because all of my other ideas were too lame. It’s not difficult to be witty, but then being witty while showing your personality AND relating that to what your blog is actually about is a whole other story.

#2: HOW “UNIQUE” IS MY PERSONALITY?

How “unique” must my personality be? I’m proud that I’m not the typical kikay, goody-goody, innocent type kinda girl. I do believe that my opinions and perspectives are not that of a typical person, but as different as I may be, given a serious topic my opinions will not differ greatly from that of my friends or classmates.

Given this requirement to create posts that will talk about news about new social media and how it affects me, and the OrCom practice, I don’t know what more I can say that my classmates haven’t already said.

#3: HOW EXACTLY DO I LET MY PERSONALITY “SHOW” IN MY BLOG

If you search for tips in making blogs online, you’d always see something like “let your personality show in your blog.” Oh please. Statements like that are easier said than done. Sure you can show your interests with the kind of articles that you write, but when given a set of topics to write about, you would feel that it somehow limits your “personality-showing-space.”

And about what I said earlier about getting lost, it’s so easy to be intimidated by the other blogs out there. Since this blog was required in a certain subject, practically the whole batch has a blog. And based on my experience, my blog seemed like crap compared to that of my batchmates, especially since many of them are really good writers. It was so easy to be discouraged, that’s why after just a couple of weeks, I didn’t feel like updating my blog anymore.

So what do I do??? The fact still remains that this is a requirement equivalent to 20% of my grade in a major subject. It took me months of blog-soul-searching, tons of articles on the web with tips for people who’re new to blogs, a JMA Marketing Seminar on Business Management through Contemporary Marketing and a blogging workshop before I could be fully decided on what to do.

Wait for my next post regarding my realizations and plans regarding this issue. Feel free to comment for the mean time.

4 Responses to “Why I Hate(d) This Blogging Requirement (Part1)”

  1. Zid September 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    I really admire your honesty with this one, Patty. I must admit that I have faced the same difficulties as you. I can’t really say that my blog is an accurate portrayal of who I am in real life. To some extent, it does, and yet a large part of it feels contrived. Oh well. I think I need to do more soul-searching then.

    • Pattydc September 24, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      I like your blog a lot though! It’s totally you. I mean when I read your blog I feel that we’re just in the Oble Garden chitchatting away.

      Anyway, it’s always good to do some soul-searching once in a while. It keeps us in check, and re-focuses our very distracted minds 🙂

  2. sarahforward September 24, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    I agree with Zid.

    The whole time I was reading your blog, I was like: “FINALLY! Someone got the guts and courage to write this stuff and let it out.” Me too, I purposefully did not open my WordPress account (to the extent that I had forgotten my username and password) because I don’t know what else to write our classmates haven’t said/written already. Everytime I read our classmates’ blog, the green-eyed monster inside swallows me. I feel jealous how some people can write amazing and relevant blogs (i.e. the person this comment followed) Sure, I can write on a diary about the stuff that goes on with me, but I have more to learn about writing in blogs.

    Still, I try to keep an open-mind. I’m gonna be honest though, I don’t see myself keeping my blog after this semester. I’

    Anyway, I’m proud of us Patty because we realized we can do it–blogging. It was a good experience, you have to admit that 🙂

    • Pattydc September 24, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      I felt like I had to share my frustrations with this requirement. At least people know that it’s not really an easy thing, what we’re doing.

      And yes, I do agree that this is a good experience for us. At least we got a first hand feel of being a blogger. I for one am getting the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

