SNS = SHOPPING Networking Sites

25 Sep

It was during the peak of Multiply.com when different online shops kept popping out here and there. Business-minded students/undergraduates, those who wanted a sideline, or individuals who wanted to jumpstart their business all flocked to Multiply. Many of them have established their business in that site, and still use it to this very day.

And, when Facebook became popular, we saw how the online reselling trend followed.

Free, Fast, Easy

Free, fast and easy – these are the main reasons why online resellers choose to use Social Networking sites like Facebook to house their online stores.

There’s already a community of people, and all you have to do is add contacts. You may post pictures of your products in the photos part of your account. And, interested buyers may choose to send you a private message or leave comments in your gallery. You may also wish to put guidelines about how to order, where you accept meet-ups, shipping details, etc. in your notes page.

Doubtful clients can also see if you’ve already had successful transactions. This will show them that you are a legitimate reseller, and not just one of those con-artists.

Online shopping on SNS: a yes or no?

Personally, I’m not against online shopping. I even have several online store contacts, and enjoy “online window shopping” when I’m bored. I think it’s good that people are using different means to make their business successful.

Not everyone is happy about this phenomenon though. Some are irritated because store contacts keep tagging you in pictures of products, or sometimes the store contacts spam your feed, and you miss the posts of your friends or crushes. This can be solved pretty easily though. Facebook allows you to hide posts of contacts you don’t want to see. So if you like a certain shop’s products, you can just go to that shops page when you want, but you don’t have to see that shop’s post in your feed.

I think that Facebook is still relatively young. What happened with Multiply was that they chose to adopt the shopping phenomenon into their system, and so they created a shopping community in their scheme. I’m curious as to what Facebook plans to do about the online reselling accounts that seem to be multiplying as the days pass. Maybe a new e-bay can be created out of all that’s happening. Definitely though, we will see more and more uses for these social networking sites.

10 Responses to “SNS = SHOPPING Networking Sites”

  1. galeaya September 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Doubtful clients can also see if you’ve already had successful transactions. This will show them that you are a legitimate reseller, and not just one of those con-artists.

    Exactly why e-bay still prevails until today, I think, because of its functions such as seller/buyer ratings and comments and an easy-pay system. Multiply trounced (and still does, imho) both e-bay and FB with their album/picture-viewing system, but they eventually were beaten by FB because of the “trend”. Still, if I were to choose an SNS for selling, I’d probably say Livejournal, partly because I have a great affinity for their customizable layouts and relatively high security regarding friends lists and [blog] visibility. A great part of it is due to the fact that LJ is largely a friends-only / friending community, and it’s easy to track down fakes and scams since everyone knows everyone else. Elsewhere, it’s a free-for-all kind of environment, regardless of how high you think your security is. owo

    Although doesn’t it make you wonder if there will ever be an SNS-type of site solely dedicated to selling/buying things? Kind of like a mesh of e-bay, FB and Multiply all in one. XD

  2. Pattydc September 29, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I’m not too familiar with Livejournal so my opinion prolly isn’t that credible. But then from what I know of Livejournal, there are a lot of restrictions. Although there are communities/groups, I’m not sure if that’ll be easy for online sellers? (compared to FB or Multiply I mean).

    An SNS-type of site, solely dedicated to online shopping is not an impossible feat. In fact I believe that some developers will pick up on the online shopping trend soon, and try to create an SNS-shopping site.

  3. littlebluedreamer September 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Hello Patty!

    I’m an online seller and online shopper myself. 🙂
    Like you, I also love “online window shopping” without having to walk from store to store. That’s another advantage of online shops. Online browsing is now part of our generation’s multi-tasking. I can read manga, watch anime on youtube while looking for hot items online. For cosplayers, it’s fun. They can search outfits that they can use for conventions online since they can easily see and compare the images from the character they wish to portray. It’s very convenient.

    As for the problem of flooding, they can also remove the online shop from their “friends” list if they really hate seeing those in their news feed. But that would be burning bridges, I agree with the hiding and stuff that you said.

    Multiply is better for me since viewing items and giving orders are much easier. Also, viewing comments on the gusetbook and posting promos are simple. Even if multiply did not intentionally designed the site for online shops at first, the SNS best fit the category. Facebook, on the other hand, needs major revision to make it easy for online sellers and online shoppers. I kept my online shop on multiply and I don’t have plans to take it to Facebook any sooner.

  4. mavcastillo September 30, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Hello Patty!I love online (window) shopping!I still have to try purchasing an item from an online shop though. I’m such a scaredy cat I tend to back out when I reach the part where one starts to fill out the order form. I must say that it is easier to find unique pieces online than when you’re in a mall where almost everything is mass produced. I guess that’s one charm of online shopping that makes the population of those who venture on online businesses and those who shop online boom.

  5. chocostraws September 30, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    this post made me remember why I left Multiply. 😀

    I think it’s not the fault of the Online stores that people are irritated. On their part, what they are trying to do is just to expand their Online visibility. However, it’s also understandable that people will feel irritated, especially when Online stores keep on tagging them on product photos. FB photo walls are suppose to be the ‘personal’ space of one person, and adding pictures on it that don’t really have the person’s face is like invading their personal space.

  6. juolpindo October 1, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    I agree with you that it is somewhat irritating when the online shops tag me or spam my facebook wall. I have nothing against online selling but I think tagging people on their new products is really annoying especially when they’re tagging the wrong ones. The moderators of these online shops should carefully select the people they’re tagging. Though it is quite funny to see male friends tagged by an online shop with its new line of bra offerings or “kikay” kits and the like. However, it is alarming. I believe that facebook must do something about it or else people will shift to other social networking sites just like what happened in multiply. In addition, as these online shops do not pay taxes, they are considered illegal; and buying stuff from the online shops are therefore considered illegal and is punishable by the law.

  7. Grace October 1, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Although I like looking through catalogues of online stores, I rarely ever buy stuff. I guess I’m still really apprehensive of purchasing stuff that I haven’t been able to inspect myself. The only things I’ve bought online were CDs, a hoodie and a few accessories.

    I think it was a smart move for Multiply to embrace online shopping. It makes it easier for the owners of online shoppers to reach their market and for online shoppers to be updated when their favorite shops have new items. With Facebook trumping all the other social networking sites, this was a smart move for Multiply to keep their members who love online shopping.

  8. Marj Casal October 1, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Oh, I’m one of the Business-minded students/undergraduates, those who wanted a sideline, or individuals who wanted to jumpstart their business all flocked to Multiply. you’re talking about! Haha. Facebook is getting popular at online selling right now, too but I think nothing can still beat Multiply at being the shopping capital of the online world. One major proof is that people still use their Multiply accounts: (Read: Angel Lencio) to check out the shops. Eventhough they don’t update their sites anymore, they are still active and used only for shopping. It’s just different when it’s Multiply. It’s because of the customizability of the layouts without looking jologs (if done by an expert, ehem! Haha). I’m a living proof (and my clients who are still asking to revamp their online shops) that the Multiply Market is still up and alive!

  9. strawberrysheepcake October 1, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I have a post on online shopping as well. and to Marj: Now I know how much you love online shopping, you’ve just commented on my post about it! hahaha

    I agree with chocostraws,that was one of the reasons why I “left” multiply, i felt like it suddenly went into another direction, from social networking to online marketing and shopping.

    I placed a bid on a lolita maid cosplay dress weeks ago on Ebay for my creative picture. I won the bidding, yet i didn’t get to purchase it. The seller won’t accept any other payment methods but PayPal.

    that is what i hate about it. it seemed to me as if it is within reach, yet in reality it is so out of reach.:(

  10. Pamela Enriquez October 3, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    I don’t really know why I am not drawn to the idea of Online Shopping. Maybe, I am just the conventional type of person who goes to the malls to shop. I believe that the times that I stroll along the boutiques give freedom from the stress of the online world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

